Keynote Speaker:

Tom SanchezThe keynote speaker is Tom Sanchez, Ph.D., chair and professor of Urban Affairs and Planning at Virginia Tech. Sanchez earned his doctorate in city planning from Georgia Tech in 1996 and has since taught at Iowa State University, Portland State University, the University of Utah and Virginia Tech. He conducts research in the areas of transportation, environmental justice, technology and scholarly impact. Sanchez currently serves as the editor-in-chief of Housing Policy Debate, a leading journal on the topics of housing and community development policy. His new book, Planning Knowledge and Research, was published by Routledge in 2018. In 2012 he co-authored, Planning as if People Matter: Governing for Social Equity (Island Press) with Marc Brenman and in 2007 they co-authored The Right to Transportation: Moving to Equity (Routledge).

Dr. Sanchez’s keynote speech is presented by Interdisciplinary Transportation Studies (ITS) program at SSU, through the grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF).



Alan C. Peterson, II, M.P.A: Doctoral candidate, Texas Southern University, Houston, TX
Antonia Green: Student, Savannah State University
Angela Wilson: Assistant Professor, Journalism and Mass Communication Department, Savannah State University
Ashley Bozarth: Research Analyst II, Community and Economic Development, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
Behrooz Kalantari, Ph.D.: Professor of Public Administration, Department of Political Science and Public Affairs, Savannah State University
Bhavya Mistry: Student, SCAD
Bria Mulrain: Student, Savannah State University
Daniel M. Harrison, Ph.D.: Lander University
Dincer Konur, Missouri University of Science and Technology
Elora Raymond, Ph.D.: Assistant Professor City and Regional Planning, Clemson University
Emmanuel Nojang, Ph.D.: Assistant Professor of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Savannah State University
Fernanda Sanchez Kong: Student, SCAD
Georgia URISA Student Committee
Hadi Farhangi, Ph.D.: Assistant Professor, College of Business Administration, Savannah State University
Jermaine Durham, MSUSP: Doctoral candidate in Planning, Design, and Built Environment, Clemson University
John R. Bennett, DPA: Adjunct Professor, Valdosta State University; Executive Director, Savannah Bicycle Campaign
Kailyn Miller: Student, Savannah State University
Karilyn Murray: Doctoral student, Askew School and Public Administration and Policy, Florida State University
Kevin Klinkenberg: Executive Director, Savannah Development and Renewal Authority
Kristin M. Murray, MPA, MSP: PhD candidate, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Florida State University
Kyra Stone: Student, Savannah State University
Long Chen:
PhD candidate, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Florida State University
Mahmoud Salari: College of Business Administration, Savannah State University
Marcus Givens: Undergraduate Research Student, Savannah State University
Marion Bell: Lecturer, HSEM program. Savannah State University
Peter Kaisary: Student, SCAD
Philip Omunga, Ph.D.: Assistant Professor of Urban Studies and Planning, Savannah State University
Ramina Jahanbakhsh Javid: Shahid Beheshti University, Iran
Robin Williams, Ph.D.: Professor and Chairman of Department of Architectural History, SCAD
Roxana J. Javid, Ph.D.: Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering, Savannah State University
Sarah Dillard: StudentSavannah State University
Shaleen Miller: Doctoral student, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Florida State University
Sylvester Formey: Vanguard Distributing and Savannah-Chatham County Public School System
Todd D. Holloway: Founding Principal, HollowayEPI and EVOKE Savannah
Vishanya Forbes, MSUSP: Transportation planner, RS&H Savannah
Willie Green III, Ph.D.: Supervisor of Elections and Registration, Floyd County Board of Elections and Registration